Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Show All Answers
Your relative or friend will be taken to the morgue.
No. Visual identification is not required. Should it become necessary for you to come in or supply us with other records or x-rays, you will be contacted.
No. The Coroner’s Office does not allow viewing. Arrangements can be made at the funeral home of your choice for viewing.
Depending upon the circumstances of the death, the approval of the Coroner, and the consent of the next-of-kin, tissue or organ donation may be possible to help others. You may be contacted by an organ donation representative.
State law required the Coroner to be notified. The Coroner then inquires into and determines the circumstances, manner, and cause of all sudden, violent or unusual deaths and those deaths where a doctor is not in attendance, or is present but unwilling to sign the death certificate according to state law.
Within 48 hours you need to select a funeral home of your choice and make arrangements to meet with them. Inform the funeral director that the death is being handled by the Lumpkin County Coroner’s Office and ask them to notify us.
Generally, the investigation and autopsy, if needed, should be done within 72 hours. Your funeral director will coordinate the release on your behalf or you may contact the office during normal business hours to obtain information about the status of your case.
When there is an additional need to establish the cause and manner of death the Coroner can order an autopsy. Each case is evaluated on an individual basis.
No. Our office does not select funeral homes or make recommendations or arrangements. We do not provide a list of funeral homes. You can access the Georgia Secretary of State’s Office to search a list of active funeral directors/homes in Georgia.
When the funeral director is meeting with you they will request the legal next-of-kin to sign a written release form providing authorization for the Coroner to release the body to that funeral home. The signed authorization should be sent directly to the Coroner's Office. When the body is ready for release, the Coroner’s Office will notify the funeral home.
You can get a death certificate from your funeral home or from Probate Court. They are usually ready within 14 days once certified by the Coroner’s Office. When an autopsy is performed, there can be a delay in the issuance of a death certificate. That process can take up to four months.
Normally no. However, there are exceptions. If these conditions exist. you will be notified by the Coroner's Office.
Once completed and released by the Georgia Bureau of Investigations (GBI), reports from the Coroner’s Office can be released by filing an Open Records Request with Lumpkin County.
Persons who have served in the Armed Forces, were honorably discharged, and met other service requirements may be entitled to some veteran’s benefits. Your funeral director will have this information.
If the decedent does not have sufficient funds for burial, the next-of-kin may seek assistance from government and non-government sources. Your funeral director can give you that information.
You should report the discovery to the local authorities (such as the Lumpkin County Sheriff's Office) so an investigation can be conducted.
Any personal possessions that are brought into the Coroner’s Office are documented and stored for safe keeping. When a funeral home takes the remains into their care, all possessions and clothing will also be released to the funeral home.
Please contact the funeral home chosen to make arrangements for personal property.
In order to enter you need to obtain permission from the law enforcement agency involved, such as the Lumpkin County Sheriff's Office.
Many GPS units and internet mapping sites obtain their road and address information primarily from two private providers, Naveteq and Teleatlas. Both companies have map change/error reporting websites:
For errors in the Lumpkin County GIS sites, please email the Lumpkin County GIS Department, or call us at 706-864-6894. For errors on GPS units or internet mapping sites, please contact that specific company.
You can purchase a County road atlas book (8.5 inches by 11 inches) or a wall map (36 inches by 48 inches) at:Planning Department25 Short StreetDahlonega, GA 30533
A digital version of the wall road map and other maps are available online for free in the map gallery.
You can use our interactive online mapping site, or stop by the Assessor’s Office and use our public mapping computer to print a map for $5. You can also order a printed map from the:GIS Department25 Short StreetDahlonega, GA 30533Phone: 706-864-6894
Prices for the map prints vary. Review our GIS Data Price List (PDF).
You can purchase GIS and LiDAR data from the GIS Department:
No. We have so many participants, it would be difficult to guarantee all requests.
No. We leave that up to the coaches and team moms.
No. Pictures are an additional fee.
For cancellation information, please call the Weather Line at 706-867-1664.
We have an After School Program in all three elementary schools from the end of school until 6 p.m. Fees are as follows:
Yes, you can register online using Rec1.
Yes. We accept Visa, Mastercard, and Discover.
Parks and Recreation hours are Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.
Yes. Please call 706-864-3622 for rates and more information on renting meeting rooms.
Yes. Please call 706-864-3622 for rates and more information on renting a pavilion.
A business license is required for any person within the unincorporated areas of the county who engages in or causes to be engaged in and/or represents himself to be engaged in any occupation or activity with the object of gain, benefit, or advantage either directly or indirectly. Any person advertising by means, including, but not limited to, signs, cards, telephone books, circulars and newspapers, that he is engaged in any business of any kind, shall be liable for the appropriate occupation tax required. This includes peddlers, solicitors, transient merchants, mobile vendors and roadside vendors.
Any individual or business must obtain a business license from the city or county in which the primary place of business would be located. A certificate of Occupancy is required for any commercial business prior to the application for license. If you have a home-based business, a written statement from landlord/owner is required that provides permission to operate in the home.
The State of Georgia requires all businesses not registered as Corporations, Limited Liability Company, Limited or General Partnership to register their business name. Lumpkin County cannot issue a business licenses without verification of this type of registration. All registrations are done at the Lumpkin County Clerk of Court’s office located at:325 Riley RoadDahlonega, GA 30533
The only exception is for a sole proprietor, if the full legal name of the owner is part of the business name (example: John J. Doe Wrecker Service).
An EIN or TIN is used to identify a business entity. Consult a Certified Public Accountant (CPA) or Tax Attorney.
Some types of businesses will have to obtain an additional license from the federal government, while other businesses, occupations, and professions are also licensed and regulated by the State and local authorities.
A State License is a certification through the State of Georgia. Type of business that need this certification include:
Proof of certification is required to obtain a business license. For more information, visit the Georgia Secretary of State website.
State tax identification numbers are needed for any business that is selling a product, and are issued by the Georgia Department of Revenue.
You can get a copy of a recorded plat or deed for a property at the Clerk of Courts Office. Their office is located in the Judicial Center at:325 Riley RoadDahlonega, GA 30533
Their phone number is 706-864-3736.
Plats need to be reviewed and approved by the Lumpkin County Planning Department before they can be recorded in the Clerk of Courts office.
A permit is required for any person who shall erect, construct, alter, install, demolish, or move any structure, electrical, gas, mechanical or plumbing system.
You may obtain a building permit through the Planning Office by providing the Department with a plat of your property and a description of the work to be permitted. For new home construction, a septic permit, a recorded plat of the property, and a site plan showing driveway, septic, setbacks, and structure location needs to be provided. If you are within 200 feet of State waters, an erosion control plan will also need to be submitted.
Stream buffers are 25 feet for warm water streams and 50 feet for Primary and secondary trout waters. Contact the Lumpkin County Planning Office at 706-864-6894 to see if the stream is designated as warm water, Primary, or Secondary.
You cannot disturb inside a buffer without a buffer variance from the Georgia Environmental Protection Division. Contact the Lumpkin County Planning Department at 706-864-6894 prior to any disturbance within a stream buffer. Penalties could be stiff, and are enforceable locally and through the State.
Yes, all signs need to be permitted in Lumpkin County through the Planning Department.
Trash or household waste cannot be burned in Lumpkin County. Yard debris can be burned with a burn permit during certain times of the year (October 1st through April 31st) under the right weather conditions. Call 800-OK-2-BURN (800-652-2876) or visit the Georgia Forestry Commission website to get a burn permit.
Setbacks in Lumpkin County are 20 feet on side and rear property lines and 50 feet from any road or easement not located in a subdivision in the front. Inside subdivisions, the setback is 30 feet from the roads and easements.
Lumpkin County currently has a performance-based zoning referred to as the Lumpkin County Land Use Code, which is a non traditional type of zoning that regulates uses through setbacks and buffers.
There is an application and procedure for a private road to be adopted by the County. Download the Road Acceptance Application (PDF). Return your completed application to the Planning Department at:25 Short StreetDahlonega, GA 30533
Addresses are only assigned to structures, not land. An address is typically assigned during the building permit inspection process. To get an official E-911 address assigned to a structure, or if you feel there is an error in addressing, please contact the Planning Department at 706-864-6894.
Emergency responders need to be certain they are responding to the correct structure in the event of emergency. During an emergency situation, it is vital to be able to locate structures quickly when every second counts.
There are no openings available at the road department at the present time.
Job openings will be listed on the county website.
There are currently fifteen full-time employees at the Road Department.
Yes, we usually have chips available, free to the public at the Recycle Center located at:1642 Red Oak Flats RoadDahlonega, GA 30533
There are more than 400 miles of county roadway in Lumpkin County.
We have 337 miles of paved roads and 75 miles of unpaved roads.
The Lumpkin County Planning office has maps for sale to the public.
Black and white wall maps are available for $10, color wall maps are $25. They also have a Lumpkin County Road Atlas for $15.
With more than 400 miles of county road and a shoulder on each side of each road, you wind up with around 800 miles of shoulder to maintain.
To be a part of the nutrition program, you must be 60 years old and to participate in the activities you must be 55 years old.
Yes, we provide transportation to those who are in the nutrition program.
Some activities include:
For additional information, please view the Senior Center page.
We only take day trips. We go to places such as:
You can call the senior center at 706-864-2358 and they will take your information for a referral or you can call Legacy Link at 770-538-2650 and ask for help getting Meals on Wheels.
A Care Coordinator will call you and schedule an appointment for a nurse to visit for an assessment for services.
If there is not a waiting list for meals, the time frame is usually within three weeks.
There are two options for meals. For those with many doctors’ appointments, we deliver frozen meals on a designated day, once per week.
All others receive a hot meal, Monday through Friday.
There are special meals for diabetics and those receiving hot meals are served a therapeutic dessert.
No, you may also call the Lumpkin County 911 Center for non-emergencies. The number is 706-864-3633.
You can make a police report any time. You may either come to the Sheriff’s Office, or we can respond to you.
You can make a police report over the phone if it is not a complex issue. The officer will advise you when he/she discusses the nature of the report.
No, you can report someone missing at any time if you are concerned.
Yes! If it is not of an emergency nature, you can call the non-emergency number at 706-864-3633.
The Sheriff’s Office Tip Line is 706-482-2699. An automated recording answers. All calls/callers can remain anonymous.
You can call the Lumpkin County 911 non-emergency number at 706-864-3633 to report it, or complete an Extra Patrol Request Form.
Yes, you can use 911 on your cell phone to report drunk drivers.
To find out if someone is in Lumpkin County Detention, please visit our Inmate Check website, go to the Sheriff’s Office. For visitation and further information, call 706-864-0412.
To get a copy of a police report or accident, come to the main lobby of the Sheriff’s Office. Administrative hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. Accident reports can be purchased online at BuyCrash.com or picked up at the Sheriff’s Office at no cost.
If you know the Investigator assigned to your case, simply call him/her. If you do not know, call the Criminal Investigations Commander at 706-482-2630. You may also contact the Victim’s Advocate at 706-482-2634.
Contact the Lumpkin County Probate Court at 706-864-3847.
Yes, if you are 21 years of age or older and meet the requirements for a concealed weapon permit, you may carry a weapon in your vehicle with or without a permit. Restrictions may apply. Please familiarize yourself with Official Code of Georgia Annotated (OCGA) 16-11-120, the “Georgia Firearms and Safety Act.”
No. We do not provide private transportation, but special circumstances may apply where we can assist. You can discuss your request with a Sheriff’s Supervisor by calling the non-emergency number at 706-864-3633.
The calls for service are answered by priority and availability of officers. Your call is important; however, it may not take priority over other emergency calls for assistance.
No, the Lumpkin County Sheriff’s Office will not tow vehicles from private property. If you choose to have the vehicle towed, it will be by a wrecker service of your own choosing.
You can contact the Lumpkin County Magistrate Court at 706-864-7760 or 706-482-2449 for assistance.
For questions pertaining to barking dogs within the city limits of Dahlonega, you may call Dahlonega City Hall at 706-864-6133 and request the Code Enforcement Officer. There is no ordinance for barking dogs outside the city limits of Dahlonega. For any domesticated animal concerns, call Lumpkin County Animal Control at 706-482-2602 or, after business hours, the non-emergency number at 706-864-3633.
Yes, but only emergency messages will be delivered. Call the non-emergency number for assistance at 706-864-3633.
Yes, you can complete an Extra Patrol Request Form online or pick one up in the main lobby of the Sheriff’s Office.
Call the non-emergency number and request an officer, or call your phone company and request that a trap and trace or block be installed.
Lumpkin County Sheriff’s Office does not solicit donations either by phone or by mail. If you are not sure, do not provide any personal information or credit card information to the requester.
To find out if a Civil Process was served, you may call the Lumpkin County Sheriff’s Office Court Services Division at 706-4822433.
You may call the Lumpkin County Sheriff’s Office Court Services Division at 706-482-2433.
Contact the Lumpkin County Sheriff’s Office Court Services Division at 706-482-2433.
For serving permits, firearm license and civil background checks contact Lumpkin County Sheriff’s Office Court Services Division at:Justice Center325 Riley RoadDahlonega, GA 30533
The office can be reached by phone at 706-482-2433.
Ms. Christina Callender is the Open Records Clerk for the Sheriff’s Office, and all requests must be addressed to her. Research, retrieval, copy, and other fees do apply for Open Records requests. For further information on Open Records, call 706-482-2634.
The Lumpkin County Sheriff's Office: 385 East Main Street, Dahlonega, GA 30533
Once you arrive at the Lumpkin County Sheriff's Office Lobby, please let a Sheriff's Office Employee know that you need a criminal history ran and a form will be provided for you to fill out. Fill out the form in its entirety and return it to a Sheriff's Office employee.
$10.00 cash, exact change required.
In most cases, the criminal history can be run the same day, however could take 2-4 hours to complete or in rare cases, will be provided the following date. Any criminal history forms dropped off Friday evening, will be processed the following business day.
No, criminal histories will only be provided during office hours.
The connection fee is an administrative fee that covers costs associated with sending a field representative to your residence or business for reading and/or connecting service and the administrative time required to process the application.
Lumpkin County Water and Sewerage Authority’s hours are as follows:Monday through Friday8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.Closed for Lunch1 to 2 p.m.
We gladly accept cash, checks, money orders and credit/debit cards at the Lumpkin County Water and Sewage office. We also accept credit/debit cards through our department page link and by phone at 855-429-3541.
Any payments not received on or before the 15th will receive penalties on the following business day.
A penalty of 10% is added to the account.
If it is between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday, please call 706-867-6580. Any other time, please call 706-864-3633.
All accounts will require a deposit. The current deposit is $100. New customers will also be required to pay a connection fee of $50, at the time the application for water service is made.
Lumpkin County Water and Sewerage Authority customers are billed monthly.
Lumpkin County Water and Sewerage Authority customers do not have to be at home for their water service to be connected.
A field representative will come to your home and connect your service at the water meter. However, you need to turn off everything (such as water faucets, etc.) that uses water prior to your new service being connected.
Lumpkin County Water and Sewerage Authority establishes new service accounts by dispatching a field representative to your residence or business to obtain a reading of your meter.
Lumpkin County Water and Sewerage Authority must coordinate the service request schedules of all customers. To meet all new service requests, all applications accepted after 2 p.m. will not be activated until the following business day.
For any questions, please contact the Lumpkin County Water and Sewerage Authority office by calling 706-865-0788.
No, individuals with private wells wishing to have their water tested should contact the Lumpkin County Cooperative Extension office by calling 706-864-2275.
No, the Lumpkin County Environmental Health Department maintains records and issues permits for septic systems. For more information, you can call them at 706-867-2730.