Board of Directors


  • 2 p.m.
  • 1st Tuesday of each month
  • Lumpkin County Administration Building
    Downstairs Conference Room
    194 Courthouse Hill
    Dahlonega, GA 35033


The Lumpkin County Water and Sewerage Authority is governed by a Board of Directors composed of seven members who serve on a part-time basis. The Chairman of the Lumpkin County Board of Commissioners, the Mayor of the City of Dahlonega and the Chairman of the Lumpkin County Development Authority (or their appointed designees) serve on the Board of Directors by position. The remaining four board members are appointed by the Lumpkin County Board of Commissioners. Each appointed board member serves for a term of two years and may be reappointed for additional terms.

Authority Appointment

Appointments to the board are structured in a staggered manner to ensure continuity in governance. The Chairman, Vice Chairman and Secretary are elected by and serve at the pleasure of the Water Authority Board of Directors.

Operations Standpoint

From an operations standpoint, the Authority utilizes a Board of Directors Administrator form of organization. The Executive Director is appointed by and serves at the pleasure of the Board. 

The Board adopts a balanced budget annually and establishes billing rates and fees for the operations of the Water Authority. 

Executive Director Responsibilities

The Executive Director has the responsibility of administering operations in accordance with the policies and the annual budget adopted by the Board of Directors.